The Undying by Ethan Reid

The Undying by Ethan ReidTHEY HAVE COME FROM THE STARS…
In this riveting apocalyptic thriller for fans of The Passage and The Walking Dead, a mysterious event plunges Paris into darkness and a young American must lead her friends to safety—and escape the ravenous “undying” who now roam the crumbling city.

Jeanie and Ben arrive in Paris just in time for a festive New Year’s Eve celebration with local friends. They eat and drink and carry on until suddenly, at midnight, all the lights go out. Everywhere they look, buildings and streets are dark, as though the legendary Parisian revelry has somehow short circuited the entire city.

By the next morning, all hell has broken loose. Fireballs rain down from the sky, the temperatures are rising, and people run screaming through the streets. Whatever has happened in Paris—rumors are of a comet striking the earth—Jeanie and Ben have no way of knowing how far it has spread, or how much worse it will get. As they attempt to flee the burning Latin Quarter—a harrowing journey that takes them across the city, descending deep into the catacombs, and eventually to a makeshift barracks at the Louvre Museum—Jeanie knows the worst is yet to come. So far, only she has witnessed pale, vampiric survivors who seem to exert a powerful hold on her whenever she catches them in her sights.

These cunning, ravenous beings will come to be known as les moribund—the undying—and their numbers increase by the hour. When fate places a newborn boy in her care, Jeanie will stop at nothing to keep the infant safe and get out of Paris—even if it means facing off against the moribund and leaving Ben—and any hope of rescue—behind.

THE UNDYING is available from Amazon, Audible and iTunes.

 *****

“After a devastating trigger touches off the fall of mankind, a desperate race for survival begins while the lush backdrop of Paris is brought to its knees. This is an enthralling tale of terror and survival. The writing is superb. The tension never stops. Keep the doors locked and the lights on—Ethan Reid is the new voice of horror you’ve been waiting for.” (Graham Brown, New York Times bestselling author of The Eden Prophecy)

“Even the most original apocalypse won’t satisfy unless you can root for the survivors. Ethan Reid’s The Undying delivers resounding, realistic terror, vampiric demons, and characters whose fates you’ll follow with your heart in your throat.” (Sophie Littlefield, national bestselling author of the Aftertime Series)
“The Undying conjures a nightmarish City of Lights that’s all about darkness, a tourists’ horror story that goes miles beyond delayed flights and bedbugs in the sheets. Pacy and visceral, Ethan Reid has written a thriller that brings a genuinely fresh take to a monstrous mythology.” (Andrew Pyper, #1 internationally bestselling author of The Demonologist)

“This postapocalyptic horror novel effectively delivers gross-out thrills. . . . Debut author Reid keeps the action rushing ahead in hysterical panic with vivid scenes and convincing (albeit short-lived) characters. This one screams for a sequel.”
(Publishers Weekly)

 *****

Ethan Reid received his BA in English from the University of Washington and his MFA from the University of Southern California’s MPW Program, where he studied under author S.L. Stebel, Oscar-nominated screenwriter Sy Gomberg, and Oscar-winning screenwriter Frank Tarloff. Ethan is a member of the International Thriller Writers, the Horror Writers Association and the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. He lives in Seattle.

ITW

International Thriller Writers Inc represents professional authors from around the world. Learn more about them, their work, and the sources from which they draw their inspiration at the Official ITW Organization Website.

Interested in becoming a member of the International Thriller Writers? ITW offers Active and Associate memberships.
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

MATCH UP: In stores now!

mu_footer

THRILLERFEST XIV: Register Today!

FOLLOW US ON

FACEOFF

One of the most successful anthologies in the history of publishing!

fo_footer