Print Friendly, PDF & Email

thriller-roundtable-logo5‘Tis the season to….write a thriller? ITW Members Lisa de Nikolits, Lee Gimenez, C. Derick Miller, Lynn Cahoon, J. H. Bográn and Les Edgerton are taking time out of their holiday prep to discuss Christmas themed thrillers: Yes or no? And why? Scroll down to the “comments” section below to follow along. You won’t want to miss this!


Lynn Cahoon is the author of the New York Times and USA Today best-selling Tourist Trap cozy mystery series. GUIDEBOOK TO MURDER, book 1 of the series, won the Reader’s Crown for Mystery Fiction. She also pens the Cat Latimer series available in mass market paperback with SLAY IN CHARACTER coming in late 2018. In addition to releasing WHO MOVED MY GOAT CHEESE in March as part of the new Farm to Fork series, KILLER GREEN TOMATOES released July 3rd, 2018.


Les Edgerton is a full-time writer. He is an ex-con, having served two years at Pendleton Reformatory on a 2-5 sentence for second-degree burglary back in the late sixties. His work has been nominated for or been awarded: the Pushcart Prize, O. Henry Award, PEN/Faulkner Award, Derringer Award, Spinetingler Magazine Thriller of the Year, Jesse Jones Book Award, Edgar Allan Poe Award (short story category), Violet Crown Book Award, and others.


Originally from South Africa, Lisa de Nikolits has lived in Canada since 2000. She has a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature and Philosophy and has lived in the U.S.A., Australia and Britain. No Fury Like That, her most recently published work, is her seventh novel. It will be published in Italian, under the title Una furia dell’altro mondo, in 2019. Previous works include: The Hungry Mirror (winner 2011 IPPY Gold Medal); West of Wawa (winner 2012 IPPY Silver Medal); A Glittering Chaos (winner 2016 Bronze IPPY Medal); The Witchdoctor’s Bones; Between The Cracks She Fell (winner 2016 for Contemporary Fiction); and The Nearly Girl. Lisa lives and writes in Toronto. Her ninth novel, The Occult Persuasion and the Anarchist’s Solution is forthcoming in 2019.


J. H. Bográn is an international author of novels, short stories and scripts for television and film.  He’s the son of a journalist, but ironically prefers to write fiction rather than facts. His genre of choice is thrillers, but he likes to throw in a twist of romance into the mix. He also writes freelance for various magazines and newspapers across the globe. He lives in Honduras with his wife, three sons, and one Lucky dog. Get a free copy of the short story collection A Dozen Shorts when you sign up to his Newsletter.


Lee Gimenez is the award-winning author of 14 novels, including his highly-acclaimed J. T. Ryan Thriller series. His latest novel is FIREBALL, a J. T. Ryan Thriller, which was published in 2018. Several of his books were bestsellers, among them FBI Code Red, The Media Murders, Skyflash, Killing West, and The Washington Ultimatum. Lee is a multi-year nominee for the Georgia Author of the Year Award and is a Finalist in the prestigious Terry Kay Prize for Fiction. His books are available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and many other retailers in the U.S. and Internationally. Lee is a member of the International Thriller Writers Association (ITW), the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA), the Georgia Writers Association, the Southeastern Writers Association, and the Atlanta Writers organization.


C. Derick Miller is a dark fiction author, freelance A&E journalist, poet, ordained minister, and ASCAP songwriter born in the town of Greenville, Texas. A seasoned paranormal investigator and traveler for the art industry, his influences include Hunter S. Thompson, Kevin Smith, Shawn Mullins, and Del James. He is currently signed with Black Rose Writing, Death’s Head Press, and is an Arts and Entertainment Contributor for several Northeast Texas newspapers and magazines.