Apostle Rising by Richard Godwin

Detective Chief Inspector Frank Castle never caught the Woodlands Killer and it almost destroyed him. Now years later, mauled by the press, and traumatised by nightmares, he is faced with a copycat killer with detailed inside knowledge of the original case.

He and his partner DI Jacki Stone enter a deadly labyrinth, and at its centre is the man Castle believes was responsible for the first killings. He’s running a sinister cult and playing dark mind games with the police. The investigation has a shattering effect on the lives of Castle and Stone. The killer is crucifying politicians, and he keeps raising the stakes and slipping through their hands. Dark coded ritualistic killings are being carried out on high profile figures and the body count is rising. Castle employs a brilliant psychologist to help him solve the case, and he begins to dig into the killer’s psyche. But some psychopaths are cleverer than others.

APOSTLE RISING  is available from Amazon (US) and Amazon (UK).

 *****

“A novel that is a must for fans of Val McDermid’s Tony Hill and Ian Rankin’s Rebus..”
NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE

“Godwin has created a great whodunit. This book stays with you long after the final page.”
Seattle PI.

“Apostle Rising is a dark police procedural … that does an amazing job of sucking in the reader right away and never letting up.”
Bookgasm Magazine.

“Apostle Rising by Richard Godwin has to be one of the best books I’ve read in ages. Fantastically written, fast-paced and terrifying. Just how I like them…” SUNDERLAND ECHO

“An arresting and cleverly plotted police procedural married to gothic horror … Apostle Rising is an unusual and memorable crime story.”
CrimeTime.

“Rare for a crime novel, it has a lyrical, almost poetic style, beautifully written and well constructed. On the strength of this offering, Godwin is a welcome addition to the world of the full-length novel.”
BookGeeks Magazine.

“Richard Godwin’s ‘Apostle Rising’ is a police procedural and psychological thriller of the first order. If you love Ken Bruen and John Connolly, Godwin’s the man you’ll be following next.”
SCOTT PHILLIPS, author of The Ice Harvest

“A brilliant new cop duo with a plot to die for and a killer that will terrify you.”
SHEILA QUIGLEY, author of Thorn In My Side.

“Engrossing, exquisite, and extra-scary.. Apostle Rising is not just another detective novel. It is also not for the faint of heart. It is a noir tour-de-force that will leave you breathless and teary-eyed.”
VINCENT ZANDRI, author of As Catch Can

 *****

Richard Godwin is a widely published crime and horror writer as well as a produced playwright. He was born in London and obtained a BA and MA in English and American Literature from King’s College London. He has travelled the world extensively and lectured and worked in property. His second novel, ‘Mr. Glamour’, published by Black Jackal Books, was released on April 12, 2012 as a paperback. It is about a world of wealthy, beautiful people who can buy anything, except safety from the killer in their midst. His short stories have appeared in many magazines and anthologies, among them ‘The Mammoth Book Of Best British Crime’ and ‘The Big Book Of Bizarro’. Links to all of his stories can be found on the Magazines page of his website at http://www.richardgodwin.net/magazines. He is a skilled interviewer and publishes his interviews with other authors as Chin Wags At The Slaughterhouse in the Blog section of his website at http://richardgodwin.net/. A full list of his works can also be found at his website.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

MATCH UP: In stores now!

mu_footer

VIRTUAL THRILLERFEST XV: Register Today!

FOLLOW US ON

FACEOFF

One of the most successful anthologies in the history of publishing!

fo_footer