Print Friendly, PDF & Email

blackestDetective Bobbie Gentry was psyched when she was offered the opportunity to work with the FBI on a special task force in the search for a heinous serial killer known as The Storyteller. What she didn’t expect was for the serial killer to follow her home on Christmas Eve…

The Storyteller couldn’t resist Bobbie no matter the risk. He murdered her husband and would have murdered her child, but the little boy got away. Now Bobbie’s fight for survival might just be more than he bargained for…

One of them must die.

Author Debra Webb recently discussed her latest novel with The Big Thrill:

What do you hope readers will take away from this book?

THE BLACKEST CRIMSON is the prequel to the new Shades of Death series and includes an extended excerpt of No Darker Place, the first novel in the series.

How does this book make a contribution to the genre?

The Shades of Death series is a deep exploration of the lives of a police detective and the son of a serial killer who has dedicated his life to hunting the killers no one else can find. The main protagonists of the series are deeply damaged and broken, and yet determined to find justice for the victims—including themselves.

What authors or books have influenced your career as a writer, and why?

Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, Karen Robards, Karen Rose and Tami Hoag.


debDebra Webb is the award winning, USA Today bestselling author of more than 125 novels, including reader favorites the Faces of Evil, the Colby Agency, and the Shades of Death series. With more than four million books sold in numerous languages and countries, Debra’s love of storytelling goes back to her childhood on a farm in Alabama.

To learn more about Debra, please visit her website.