Fractured Trust: A Renee Steele Legal Mystery by R. Barri Flowers

Fractured Trust_coverFrom R. Barri Flowers, award winning criminologist and internationally bestselling author of legal thrillers, Persuasive Evidence, State’s Evidence, and Justice Served, comes a gripping new legal suspense novel, Fractured Trust: A Renee Steele Legal Mystery.

It is 1982 and assistant prosecuting attorney Renee Steele works for the Sex Crimes Unit of the Akers County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office, in the Sparrow’s Crossing, Michigan.

In her latest case, Renee prosecutes wealthy businessman, Kurt Bochner, accused of raping a young woman during a date.

Alice Prescott, a cocktail waitress and aspiring model claims the former local college star quarterback of date raped her.

The case hits close to home for Renee, who was the victim of date rape thirteen years earlier while in law school. She never pressed charged against her assailant, but the crime had affected both her professional and personal life.

She is currently dating corporate attorney, Lawrence Quinn, but finds herself attracted to Sparrow’s Crossing police detective, Paul Kelly, an investigator in her current rape case.

Renee is thrown for a loop when Paul’s separate investigation into an international escort service operation yields unexpected results that lead to a shocking betrayal.

In the meantime, she is pitted in court against a formidable opponent in defense attorney, Deana Krane, who has never lost a case and is determined to win an acquittal for her client, Kurt Bochner.

In Fractured Trust, sex crimes– date rape and high-class prostitution– are put under the microscope, with the results anything but certain, with a stunning climax.

FRACTURED TRUST is available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords.

 *****

“Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page.” — Midwest Book Review on State’s Evidence

“An excellent look at the jurisprudence system…will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein.” – Harriet Klausner on Persuasive Evidence

“A model of crime fiction …. Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices.”–Statesman Journal on Justice Served

“An intriguing story of murder, madness and mayhem, with a slight blend of mystery. Flowers depicts believable characters in this suspenseful legal thriller.” — Romantic Times on State’s Evidence

“R. Barri Flowers has created a superb mystery …. It’s a great book that any mystery lover will adore.” –RAWSISTAZ Reviewers on Justice Served

“Raw, primal, thrilling, incredible—one of the best books that I have read. I was completely riveted from the first page.” — Romance Reader at Heart on Persuasive Evidence

“A well-written thriller with an opening scene that would cause anyone to keep turning the pages…. It’s fast-paced, intriguing, satisfying, and I highly recommend it to you.” — Romance Reader At Heart on State’s Evidence

“An absorbing legal thriller… Flowers’ forte lies in the vivid well-developed characters he creates. The interactions of his characters and the conflicts that arise serve to make the story a compelling page-turner.” — Romance in Color on Persuasive Evidence

“This author weaves a magical web, as well as, a tangled one [and] wraps up the mystery thriller beautifully …. Will be recommending this title to many!”
–Huntress’ Book Reviews on Justice Served

“All the elements of a great mystery book, suspicions, red herrings, evidence and witnesses. If you are into mysteries, this would be the book for you.” — Romance Review on Persuasive Evidence

 *****

R. Barri Flowers is and award winning criminologist and the bestselling author of gripping legal fiction, including FRACTURED TRUST, STATE’S EVIDENCE, PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE, and JUSTICE SERVED.

The author has also written a number of other bestselling mystery and thriller novels, such as BEFORE HE KILLS AGAIN, DARK STREETS OF WHITECHAPEL, MURDER IN MAUI, MURDER IN HONOLULU, and SEDUCED TO KILL IN KAUAI.

Flowers is a bestselling author of true crime and criminology books as well, including THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS, SEX CRIMES, PROSTITUTION IN THE DIGITAL AGE, THE DYNAMICS OF MURDER, and MURDER AT THE PENCIL FACTORY.

Follow R. Barri Flowers on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Goodreads, LibraryThing, and YouTube. Learn more about the author on Wikipedia andwww.rbarriflowers.net.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

MATCH UP: In stores now!

mu_footer

VIRTUAL THRILLERFEST XV: Register Today!

FOLLOW US ON

FACEOFF

One of the most successful anthologies in the history of publishing!

fo_footer