Weapon of Choice by Patricia Gussin

Life is good for Dr. Laura Nelson. Her kids have their ups and downs, but seem well adjusted to high school and college; her research project at the university is going well; and she is highly regarded as the chief of surgery at Tampa City Hospital. The sense of tranquility is disrupted when she is drawn into the diagnosis of the first case of HIV/AIDS seen in Tampa. But the challenge of this new disease is dwarfed by the disaster that impacts Laura’s life a few days later.

A highly resistant bacterial infection is raging in the surgical intensive care unit, and patients are dying. To make matters worse, Laura’s daughter is exposed to the bacteria and begins to show symptoms. Desperate at this point, Laura calls her young friend, Dr. Stacy Jones, at the CDC in Atlanta. Stacy arrives in Tampa, unaware that a deadly plot is underway in Atlanta as a covert white supremacist cell plans an unthinkable attack on a massive scale. Caught in the middle, Laura and Stacy encounter an opportunity to connect the Tampa nightmare with the impending Atlanta devastation. But can they prevent it?

WEAPON OF CHOICE is available from Amazon.

 *****

“Relentless suspense and pitch-perfect medical details make WEAPON OF CHOICE a knockout, a truly infectious thriller you won’t be able to put down!”
—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times best-selling author of Last To Die

“Authentic, insightful, and incredibly scary—everything a powerful medical thriller should be! Fans of Robin Cook and Michael Palmer will be riveted by this cautionary tale—and fans of fast-paced suspense will be checking their pulse as they fly through the pages.”
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity-winning author of The Other Woman

“…engrossing third medical thriller featuring Dr. Laura Nelson…There are too many organisms in the petri dish, but Gussin manages to bring it all together for a slam-bang finish.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Patricia Gussin really knows how to spin a story that makes you really, really afraid of the what ifs. She did her homework and got the right groundwork to make her novel so realistic. This is a shocking novel that will really make you think this could really happen at any time, in any city…a very fast moving story about greed, racial tensions and hatred. I highly recommend this book.”
—MysteriesGalore.com, BestSellersWorld.com

“This is a taut and fast-moving thriller set against a dramatic backdrop…For fans of medical thrillers, a solid and satisfying read.”
—Booklist, October 2012

*****

Patricia Gussin has practiced medicine and has worked in medical research as worldwide vice president for a leading healthcare company. She is a graduate of Aquinas College, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Columbia University Business School, and has an honorary degree from Duquesne University.

Gussin’s first novel, Shadow of Death, was nominated best first novel by International Thriller Writers. Twisted Justice, The Test, And Then There Was One followed, and now her latest release, Weapon of Choice. In addition to her writing role, Gussin is also the co-founder of Oceanview Publishing and serves as president and editor.

The mother of seven children, she and her husband, Dr. Robert Gussin live in Longboat Key, Florida, and Amagansett, New York. The Gussins also own and operate two Oceanview Vineyards in Marlborough, New Zealand. They co-authored a non-fiction book What’s Next…For You? in response to frequent questions as to how they transitioned from careers in medicine and medical research to authors,publishers and vintners.

ITW

International Thriller Writers Inc represents professional authors from around the world. Learn more about them, their work, and the sources from which they draw their inspiration at the Official ITW Organization Website.

Interested in becoming a member of the International Thriller Writers? ITW offers Active and Associate memberships.
No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

MATCH UP: In stores now!

mu_footer

THRILLERFEST XIV: Register Today!

FOLLOW US ON

FACEOFF

One of the most successful anthologies in the history of publishing!

fo_footer